Author Topic: How do you mentally deal with large market losses?  (Read 5716 times)

FIRE47

• Bristles
How do you mentally deal with large market losses?
« on: July 25, 2015, 07:07:54 AM »
I am relatively new to the game by nature of my age however I have been out of school for 3 years and have accumulated a decent amount of capital that I have mostly invested in equities.

This has been a choppy year for markets especially so if you are in Canada and have any amount of exposure to the TSX (oil and commodity prices, as well as people beating up on our financial sector due to a supposed impending real estate bubble) which have made it an especially bumpy ride.

Due to the nature of this year compared to the past several, and also due to the fact that my amount invested has grown to the point that market movement is now having a larger short term effect than my savings on a month to month basis.

Does anyone have any mental tips and tricks for dealing with this from people who have a lot more skin in the game? It can be discouraging to skip on the $15 lunch when you've lost 2-3k over the last few days for example - It almost feels irrelevant.

I try to think logically that even by MMM standards I'm still 15 years from FIRE and drops are actually a good thing, but it still hurts sometimes.

I'm thinking along the lines of only tracking market value changes every quarter? 

NorCal

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How do you mentally deal with large market losses?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2015, 07:43:24 AM »
I go through the same thing, and everyone deals with it a little different.

What works for me is reminders to myself on the following lines:

1.  Your long term gains are largely driven by the price you buy at, as you will be selling when you plan to sell.  By being able to buy additional shares with new money at a lower price, you are improving your long term gains.