Author Topic: How do you deal when working with difficult people?  (Read 2599 times)

Healthie

• Stubble
How do you deal when working with difficult people?
« on: August 21, 2020, 04:18:20 PM »
I work in healthcare. we're in a union. A couple people I work with have poor communication skills, are passive aggressive at times, and I don't trust them. Our boss knows and it seems there's little that can be done.

Compounding this I have some house problems that I'm finding overwhelming, and the stress is increasing my frustation with my workplace. Our work has been slow lately. Aside from this I don't have any mentionable stressors.

I'm in a term with a good job title. I have another year before it expires and I don't want to get another position.

What do you find helps you in these sort of situations? I'm looking at getting some counselling because I had a rough last week and I need to work on coping with this. Any words would be helpful.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: How do you deal when working with difficult people?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 05:48:05 PM »
Honestly? I never figured it out. I'm working on switching careers to something where passive aggressive co-workers can't control my day to day work.

You can try looking for a employer where that behavior isn't tolerated, but from what I've heard anecdotally, I don't have high hopes for that in the healthcare field.

Zikoris

• Magnum Stache
  • Vancouverstachian
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2020, 05:57:07 PM »
I deal with it by quitting and finding a new job somewhere better. My current employer seems to have a zero-tolerance policy for both assholes and idiots, which I've never encountered anywhere before. On a day to day basis, I've found that running retirement projections for different scenarios is very therapeutic. Like, looking at what my income would be if I retired today, or what date my current trajectory lands on, etc.

markbike528CBX

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2020, 06:16:38 PM »