Author Topic: How do my labor working friends make more than me?  (Read 5836 times)

Bearblastbeats

How do my labor working friends make more than me?
« on: February 02, 2017, 06:17:28 AM »
I know, I know.

You should only compare yourself with only yourself. You shouldn't care how much someone makes, blah blah.

But I am curious. I went to school for engineering, I work as a Project Engineer for a material handling firm. I made 60k last year and I turn 30 on Tuesday. I think I make a pretty good living as it is now and I am not complaining.

I only ask because both him and my brother think I would make more money if I were to go back to installing floors. My friend, who is a taper for a drywall company, said that he makes around $1800-$2000/wk. My brother, who owns a flooring installation business, makes whatever he puts for a price which can be anywhere from $5k-$10k, depending on the job/materials/help/travel/etc..

I know that in order to make money like that you have to work a lot of hours, more than 5 days a week, and that you have to pay back taxes.

I am not sure to what my question actually is here but I am looking for some clarity as to why I still choose to sit at a desk, or sometimes be at a job site, making $60k a year with benefits/pto/holiday pay/ 40hr / salary...etc.

Thoughts?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2017, 06:21:06 AM by Bearblastbeats »

Heroes821

• Pencil Stache
Re: How do my labor working friends make more than me?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 06:35:15 AM »