Author Topic: How do I pitch a 401k plan to employer?  (Read 4883 times)

k-vette

• Bristles
    • Bolton Ebikes
How do I pitch a 401k plan to employer?
« on: April 21, 2014, 08:57:00 AM »
We dont have a 401k plan.  What are the benefits to my employer in offering one?  Id like one, and I have a lot of pull on what goes on in the company.  I have no experience however with 401k.

This is a small company based in california.  The owner has 2 other businesses, all around 10-15 employees.

BuzzardsBay

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: How do I pitch a 401k plan to employer?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2014, 09:47:21 AM »
I would point out the ways in which it would be positive for the employer.  Two things are:

1.  Helps to find and retain good employees.  Good people aren't as easy to find when you don't offer competitive benefits.

2.  If the employees take the pay deduction pre-tax (not as a Roth 401k) then it reduces the amount of FICA the employer has to pay which saves the company money.

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 10:01:27 AM »
I would point out the ways in which it would be positive for the employer.  Two things are:

1.  Helps to find and retain good employees.  Good people aren't as easy to find when you don't offer competitive benefits.

2.  If the employees take the pay deduction pre-tax (not as a Roth 401k) then it reduces the amount of FICA the employer has to pay which saves the company money.

#1 - totally agree.  #2 is wrong - 401K contributions do not reduce FICA.

401K probably costs the employer a bit of money, but it can be a pretty low cost.  Even a non-matching 401K is quite valuable to employees - which goes into tip 1 about finding and retaining good employees.  Getting and more importantly, keeping good people should be extremely valuable to the employer.

FrugalSpendthrift

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2014, 10:05:08 AM »