Author Topic: How do I get rid of my financial advisor...  (Read 16023 times)

FuckRx

• Pencil Stache
How do I get rid of my financial advisor...
« on: April 10, 2014, 04:18:31 PM »

This guy started out as a friend/acquaintance and with time he became my financial advisor. I started working with him at a time when I didn't even know what a bond or index fund is. He currently manages my 401k, IRA and some taxable money that's mostly in municipal bonds right now. He charges 1.5-5% for the sale of mutual funds in a company called Lord Abbett. My sales are made 2x per month. He currently manages somewhere around 100k of my money and I invest about 6k with him per month.

What's the best way to tell this guy that I don't want to work with him anymore. I've been working with him now for 8 months. I suppose I'm looking for tactful ways of doing it and a part of me still thinks "hey but this guy helped you get started investing, he gave you a lot of advice, what if you don't know how to do it better yourself using Vanguard and other platforms". Oh and the same guy was trying to sell me Whole Life Insurance.

BigRed

• Stubble
Re: How do I get rid of my financial advisor...
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 04:25:08 PM »
Not sure exactly how much you've paid him, since you don't say how much you've sold or whether there are charges when buying, but I'm guessing you've paid him over $1,000 already, so you can probably not have so much guilt about moving on.  He's done fine, and he will continue to do fine without you.

FuckRx

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 04:27:31 PM »
well he transferred like 60k from my 401k and rolled it over into that Lord Abbett aaccount so definitely more than 1k.

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2014, 04:33:24 PM »
Just tell him you're switching to another firm. Just remember he works for you. You have no duty to keep him happy if he's no longer working in your best interest.

MDM