Author Topic: How do I buy a car?  (Read 4326 times)

Russ

• Handlebar Stache
How do I buy a car?
« on: December 31, 2014, 12:30:43 PM »
Not owning a car is getting to be a huge PITA, plus I've been hemming and hawing for four years about moving into a van, so now I'm doing something about it. Already have the model picked out - 2012-13 Ford Transit Connect, a minivan-sized cargo van for easy build-out and good mileage, after original production issues were ironed out and before the redesign that lowered the cargo height.

How do I buy one?

Never bought a car before, so I'm not sure on the details of it. There's a thing called a title that goes with it, and I have to get it registered, and get insurance, and...? Order of operations? Used, obviously (or not?), but is there anything different I should be looking for from CL sellers as opposed to dealers? I really have no clue.

Pardon the naivety, I'm sure it's not difficult, but I want to do it right (obvs) and trust you all.

Thanks! :-)

DeltaBond

• Pencil Stache
Re: How do I buy a car?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2014, 12:53:52 PM »
Forgive me on this question, but do drive now?  And what do you drive?  Do you have a license?

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 12:59:04 PM »
Do you belong to a credit union?  Some of them have a car person who will find the car you want and do the negotiations for you.  I would see if you have access to something like that which would give you an idea on price.  Next, you need to find a mechanic to check out every single car you think you might want.  Insurance, you should have contacted someone prior to purchase, but you can call up and get that done within minutes of buying.  Registration should be after insurance but within 10 days of purchase (in my state).

Future Lazy

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2014, 01:01:24 PM »
Buying from a dealer: