Author Topic: How do I access my money when I ER?  (Read 6411 times)

Cookie

How do I access my money when I ER?
« on: June 21, 2015, 04:13:07 PM »
This is probably a silly question, but I how to I access money once I ER?

I'm currently 22 and plan to ER in my early 30s. Should I be investing a large portion of my money in taxable accounts instead of my 401k so when I ER I have access to money? I've read MMM and these forums, but I haven't much on that topic.

Please share your advice and any books or articles that touch on this subject!

Cookie

Re: How do I access my money when I ER?
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2015, 04:29:08 PM »
Thanks! I'm not very good at searching through these forums.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2015, 04:36:07 PM »
This is a particularly hard topic to find because you don't know the right keywords. Hopefully a mod will sticky it to the top of the section one day. A lot of people ask about this issue.

expectopatronum

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2015, 06:29:26 PM »
This is probably a silly question, but I how to I access money once I ER?

I'm currently 22 and plan to ER in my early 30s. Should I be investing a large portion of my money in taxable accounts instead of my 401k so when I ER I have access to money? I've read MMM and these forums, but I haven't much on that topic.

Please share your advice and any books or articles that touch on this subject!

I wish someone would sticky this even tho it's in FAQs. I was digging through archives earlier to find the answers.

@Cookie, other links I found helpful:

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/forum-information-faqs/frequently-asked-questions/

Which leads to:
http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2011/11/11/how-much-is-too-much-in-your-401k/
http://jlcollinsnh.com/2013/12/05/stocks-part-xx-early-retirement-withdrawal-strategies-and-roth-conversion-ladders-from-a-mad-fientist/

Supplementing my knowledge of:
http://www.madfientist.com/retire-even-earlier/