Author Topic: How did you calculate your FIRE day and patiently wait ...?  (Read 2985 times)

GeekyGirl

• Stubble
Hello all,

I am new to MMM forum, (posted on general discussion few days ago) and fairly new follower of MMM principles. MY mustache is tiny ...
I have no debt and started saving 50% of my income six months ago. I am aiming for 60% at the end of the year (reduced expenses and increased income yay!!).
I am married and DH takes care of 60% of the charges (he earns more). He's already frugal and would gladly follow along on the FIRE path.

I have two questions:
-I have read many articles on FIRE calculators and how FI bloguers did it but while I am saving as much as I can and investing, I do not have a clear idea of when I will be FIRE. Do you just calculate how much you need by year and multiply that by 25?
-Since I discovered teh idea of being early retiree by living frugally, I am beating myself up for not realising earlier that I could do it. I mean I like my job but I'd like more doing it out of passion not because I need an income to live on. How do you manage to be patient for 5-10-15 years? I think I'll need between 6 to 10 years. How to stop myself from counting the days?

Thanks in advance.

Note: Any reference to similar posts if existing would be welcome.

Regards
GeekyGirl

Playing with Fire UK

• Magnum Stache
Re: How did you calculate your FIRE day and patiently wait ...?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 03:48:28 AM »
Welcome GeekyGirl,

There are two main paths:

1. Set up everything on autopilot, trust that you will get there and spend your time productively building a life as close to your ideal FIREd life as you can.

2. Spend the intervening 5-10-15 years obsessing over every cent, building new spreadsheets and avidly reading this and every other personal finance blog you can find.