Poll

What's the most debt you ever incurred at one time?

>200,000
20 (9.2%)
>100,000
19 (8.7%)
>75,000
10 (4.6%)
>50,000
18 (8.3%)
>20,000
57 (26.1%)
>10,000
36 (16.5%)
>100
27 (12.4%)
>0
3 (1.4%)
Never had debt
28 (12.8%)

Total Members Voted: 212

Author Topic: How deep was your deepest hole?  (Read 13011 times)

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How deep was your deepest hole?
« Reply #50 on: November 30, 2016, 10:52:08 AM »
I had about 10k in credit card debt when I graduated with my Ph.D. Part of it was planned and I didn't really worry about it.

I spent a month in Australia before I defended.
My roommate moved out about 6 months before I sold my condo and I decided not to replace her.
I was moving and needed to rent a uhaul to move 1500 miles, etc.

On the plus side:
- I sold my condo and made ~25k
- I had a 6 figure job waiting

I have never had a car loan, and only 1k in student loan debt that I used as a downpayment on my condo.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #51 on: November 30, 2016, 10:59:15 AM »
I married into a few thousand dollars of debt for a car loan.  She had the money in the bank to pay it off, but had just never considered life without a car payment before.

At one point in college my research job paycheck was withheld because I hadn't paid a $1k tuition bill and wasn't a legal student anyone.  I borrowed it from a guy in my dorm who owned a chain of hotels, so I could pay the bill, so I could collect my paycheck, so I could pay him back.  It took about a week, and it was one of the more horrible feelings I've experienced in life.  And he didn't even charge me interest.

PoutineLover

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #52 on: November 30, 2016, 11:27:08 AM »
Oops I just clicked on the poll before reading the post. My student loan debt was 33,000 but other than that I've never had debt. I don't count using my credit card, since it's paid every month.

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #53 on: November 30, 2016, 11:46:06 AM »