Author Topic: How can I reach FI faster?  (Read 6107 times)

drteter

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How can I reach FI faster?
« on: April 17, 2013, 03:13:32 PM »
Hello Mustachians,
I've been reading MMM for a couple of years and just discovered this forum, so I decided to join up!

My story:
I'm 22 and graduated in 2012 from a well-respected university (think "public ivy," as silly as that term sounds) with a BA in Economics.
I decided that I didn't want to get a normal summer job, so I started a company that helped small businesses market themselves online and build positive online reputations. This isn't an area I was particularly interested in, but I saw a niche and filled it. It didn't set the world on fire, but it was a good experience and taught me that I can have at least modest success on my own.
When I graduated, I took an offer to work at a marketing consulting firm working with Fortune 500s on branding, positioning, concept testing, etc. I also do some business development work that has a longer term strategic goal of bringing in new clients. I've been working there for nearly a year now.

While the bulk of my professional experience is in marketing (as it's what was most accessible inside and outside of school) my interests lie more in economics/finance/investing. In addition to coursework, I've got econ research experience and a year of experience managing 100K in real money for my school's endowment fund.

I thoroughly enjoy the analytical side of the work I do now and similarly enjoyed problem solving in my business. Ideally, I'd be doing work like this at a new position or in a new business venture this time next year.

Finances:
-I take home ~3K/mo after taxes.
-I have a 401K through work that is a 3% contribution by my company regardless of how much I put in that I don't currently contribute to.