Author Topic: How can I become a higher level mustachian- or what to do with a raise?  (Read 4328 times)

feistygg

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello fellow Mustachians!

I'd consider myself a "small" mustache as I'm still learning to be a badass...

Here's my (delightful) dilemma:

Just received a raise at work that netted me a 4.55% raise (oh corporate America), so I rolled it into my 401k and Roth to bring the totals to 17% and 2%. I left myself the 0.55% for increased debt and investing.

Today however, I got a promotion with a 15% pay increase bringing me to $65000. I promptly went and increased my 401k to 20% and Roth to 5% which at my calculations will put me at  $13,000 and $3,250 for the 401k and Roth.

My question is what to do with the unallocated 9%?????

My bill breakdown is as follows: (Please go easy, as I'm still learning to rock the 'stache.) I keep all of this information in a spreadsheet since I read Your money or your life. I've got 3 years of data, but started getting serious about debt elimination in 2012.

Rent: $825
Gas: $35
Electric:$25
Netflix: $13
Interwebs: $50
Groceries:$400 (mostly organic, includes 1 box of wine and 1 6 pack of microbrews per week)

The numbers change a little, but have been holding constant for a year at about $750/month for each of us.

My portion breaks out to half that, although I'll be paying the whole grocery bill from now on to help out the starving school-enrolled  boyfriend who makes a 1/2 of what I do.

Credit Cards: (Paid off in late 2012)
Amex: $0
Discover: $0
HSBC: $0
Macy's: $0
Car Loan: $0 just paid off my 2006 Ford Focus Hatchback (Feb 2013, 2 years early because of MMM)
Cell: $54.10 Tmobile

I keep them open not to trash my credit, and use the AMEX for groceries and gas 'cause the mileage points add to my work-funded platinum Delta status.

School Loans:
Undergrad 1 (2.2%): 5067
Undergrad 2 (2.2%): 656
Undergrad 3 (5%):  2409
Grad 1 (6.8%): 8020
Grad 2 (6.8%): 5600