Author Topic: How can a college student build credit?  (Read 6369 times)

SimpleSpartan

• Stubble
How can a college student build credit?
« on: October 12, 2016, 04:40:44 PM »
Background- I am a college student that works aprox 30 hours a week at $13hr which has allowed me to save about $15,000 if you include high school and my freshman year. While I save a lot, I do spend a good chunk on entertainment with friends ,dates, and gas.

Problem?- I don't have a credit score, and cant seem to find a good credit card that will lend to me, and feel like I am missing out on the travel rewards that could be used for flying to see friends currently enrolled out of state. Both my siblings squandered my parents generous education package and walked away with cc debt and student loans, so my parents are quite fearful and have offered little help.

Proposed solution so far by my friend, "Get a car loan and make the payments," meh 98 Honda accord runs and drives great plus it has leather.

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
Re: How can a college student build credit?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 04:43:59 PM »
You definitely don't want to get a loan just to "build credit."

If you think you can avoid racking up credit card debt, start applying for cards at credit unions and banks. You will unlikely get a cashback or mileage card though. When I was in college, I had a card with like $1000 limit or something that I would pay rent, utilities and groceries with. Try starting there.

SimpleSpartan

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2016, 04:47:20 PM »
You definitely don't want to get a loan just to "build credit."

If you think you can avoid racking up credit card debt, start applying for cards at credit unions and banks. You will unlikely get a cashback or mileage card though. When I was in college, I had a card with like $1000 limit or something that I would pay rent, utilities and groceries with. Try starting there.

I guess I better start there then, thanks!