Author Topic: Housecleaning service  (Read 34588 times)

Emilyngh

• Pencil Stache
Re: Housecleaning service
« Reply #50 on: September 26, 2014, 10:35:33 PM »

Lol, in your opinion but thankfully the only person one needs to justify their spending to is theirself and/or a spouse.  Having an extra 45 minutes per week because I have a housekeeper keeps me sane.  I am grad student, with a kid.  I was getting so stressed not being able to get everything done, it was affecting my health.  Every female professor I know has recommended that women in the workforce (with kids) have one because really there is only so many hours in a day.  I'd rather work an extra year than try to juggle it all and get myself sick from stress.

I am a female professor with a kid.   I highly recommend cleaning your own house (insisting that your SO also pulls their own weight), or figuring out how you are living so close to the edge that a requirement of occasional vacuuming and toilet cleaning  could make you sick from stress.   Seriously, it sounds like there're other larger life issues that need to be addressed if straits are so very dire.

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: September 26, 2014, 10:37:42 PM »
Joke question?

Obviously it's ridiculous to pay someone to clean up your shit in all but extremely extenuating circumstances (illness, injury, etc). If you do it, recognize that it's facepunch worthy.

I don't get it. How hard is it to clean up after yourself? Assuming you're not a complete slob, it shouldn't take much time or effort.

I think it's universally accepted that two adults,  two dogs, two kids plus two part time kids are a lot to clean up after.

Not if everybody cleans up after themselves. Remember when parents used to expect their kids to not make a mess, and do regular chores?

Have you seen the amount of damage a single toddler can make in just 10 minutes?

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: September 26, 2014, 10:45:10 PM »