Author Topic: House repair tools: buy, rent or pay someone?  (Read 4831 times)

Roland of Gilead

• Handlebar Stache
House repair tools: buy, rent or pay someone?
« on: April 18, 2014, 08:36:09 AM »
We are selling our house next year and I plan to do quite a bit of work on the outside this spring and summer (not working at a job right now).  One of the major things that needs to be addressed is the soffit boards and gutters along with a bit of roof repair on the concrete tiles at one edge.  There is also a second story walkway deck that needs some serious attention.

I have some decent building experience, having constructed a very solid 40x16 foot pressure treated/cedar deck with concrete poured footings plus built a complete wood framed 10x20 foot shop.

I need a way to get at the edges of the house...some of it is 40 feet off the ground.  (This is starting to sound dangerous)

I had thought about renting scaffolding, or maybe buying used scaffolding, but maybe I should just pay someone....or maybe just ignore it all and sell the house as-is.

Opinions?

Emg03063

• Bristles
Re: House repair tools: buy, rent or pay someone?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 09:28:03 AM »
Ask your real estate agent if it's worth fixing.  If you need tools you don't have, try to borrow them.  Look for a tool library in your area or just post it on Facebook that you're looking to borrow scaffolding or whatever and see who steps up.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 10:40:24 AM »
I found that it was cheaper to buy tools (used where possible) and do it myself on weekends over a long period of time than to pay someone else or rent in most cases.  Unless you can set aside a large chunk of time all at once it's hard to get the most out of rental tools.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2014, 10:55:12 AM »