Author Topic: Honesty at Work and FIRE  (Read 8002 times)

wwweb

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Honesty at Work and FIRE
« on: February 04, 2016, 05:35:23 PM »
At work, I'm routinely asked questions about my future plans with the company. Here are some examples:

Where do you see yourself in 6 months / 5 years?

Project X is very important to the company. Can you commit to working hard for the next year to make it a success?

Hi wwweb, you might have heard that <coworker's name> resigned yesterday. You're a valued member of the team and we wanted to know if you've been thinking about leaving - we'd do whatever we could to keep you here.

Based on my finances and future plans, the honest answer to some of these questions is "I will no longer be working here". Personal integrity is extremely important to me, but I also feel that the truth is politically unacceptable in these situations. My current strategy is to give non-committal answers. I've been with my current employer since I graduated from college and have no idea how people navigate workplace transitions. Is telling my manager that I only plan to be with the company x months and accepting the possibility that I might be let go early the right thing to do? How have you handled similar questions leading up to FIRE or a career change?

The wisdom of this community always impresses me, so I'm curious to hear what you think.

MerryMcQ

• Stubble
Re: Honesty at Work and FIRE
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2016, 06:01:07 PM »
There are no guarantees in a workplace for employment and until you make the final decision to FIRE, you are going to do your best at work, right? In that case, non-committal but positive answers seem to work. If you are happy with how things are going, here are some generic phrases:

"I really enjoy our team and I'm excited to work on xyz with everyone. I promise to let you know if anything comes up that may make me less committed to our team."