Author Topic: Homemade bread recipes?  (Read 7311 times)

yddeyma

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Homemade bread recipes?
« on: August 18, 2014, 04:33:04 PM »
Anyone have a good homemade bread recipe?  We like multi-grain bread, but not whole wheat and everyone in the house has a sweet tooth of course.  We're looking for a good everyday eating bread recipe.

I am a novice baker, so if I need a starter recipe and then a better recipe that's more advanced please post them both.

If anyone has a good link to a how-to website I'd appreciate.  I'm not interested in getting a cookbook (even if its free, I don't need more stuff).

Mrs. PoP

• Bristles
    • Planting Our Pennies
Re: Homemade bread recipes?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2014, 05:00:12 PM »
A friend shared this with us and it was the first bread I got pretty good at making:
http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/no-knead-harvest-bread-recipe

We love it.  With jelly or butter or fancy cheese and figs.  A good all around bread. 

A couple of tweaks that I do:  I soak the raisins and cranberries in the water before using them (coating them in a little flour before adding to the dough), and use the fruity-water as my liquid for the dough.  Also tastes amazing with extra fruit like cherries added, too!

yddeyma

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2014, 05:13:02 PM »
That looks great Mrs. PoP, unfortunately my family is against raisins (or all dried fruit, really).  I can't figure out why, I love them!  I'll try this for me, but do you have any every day white bread you use?

Mrs. PoP

• Bristles
    • Planting Our Pennies
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2014, 05:17:03 PM »
Sorry!  The only white bread I make is Irish soda bread - and I usually put raisins in that, too!  =( 

kodokan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2014, 05:27:38 PM »