Author Topic: Student Loan Question  (Read 6725 times)

RhythmKats

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Student Loan Question
« on: July 15, 2013, 05:34:40 PM »
I'm pretty new to this blog, but slowly working my way through the catalog!

I've always been naturally frugal and as an adult it's been a way of life because I don't make much money, and my work is somewhat sporadic.

A little background: I'm 32. I have about $30k @3.75% in student loan debt. I do not have any other debt.

I recently inherited some money from a relative who passed away. After solidifying my emergency fund, I have about $8k to play around with. I am self employed, so I don't have a 401k that I can max out. I do have a Roth IRA. I've contributed $2,400 to the Roth for 2013. I will use some of the $8k to max that out for this year.

Should I use the remainder of the $8k to make a larger payment on my student debt? Or should I invest it in some other vehicle where the return would be higher than the 3.5% that I'm paying on my loan? Someone suggesting holding onto the rest of the $ and using it to max out my IRA for 2014 as well. I'm guessing the Mustachian thing to do is to plug away at the debt, but I'd love to hear what others think.

Feel free to ask questions if you need more info.

Thanks!

MoneyLifeandMore

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Money Life and More
Re: Student Loan Question
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 07:43:12 PM »
This is a tough one and totally depends on the person and their views on money and debt. If the 3.75% is a fixed rate loan, I'd just leave that alone and invest the money, personally. You could wait and contribute to your Roth next year or you can contribute to a taxable investment account if you decide to take this path. There are also retirement accounts that you can set up as a self-employed person, although they do come with expenses.