Author Topic: Home brewing for novices  (Read 9933 times)

Teachstache

• Stubble
Home brewing for novices
« on: September 19, 2017, 07:23:24 PM »
Spouse and I love dark beer (Porters, stouts). I want to try my hand at home brewing beer, but I'm a total novice. We don't have an adequate local supply shop. I have 50 saved glass bottles. What would you suggest I buy, kits or separate parts, knowing that I'm a true novice and am hoping to have a decent batch of stout or Amber Ale ready by December 24? Suggestions are appreciated.

Fudge102

• Stubble
Re: Home brewing for novices
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 07:55:36 PM »
I once started out a novice myself.  Still am in many ways.  When I was living in the middle of the desert of California, I relied on Northern Brewer to get my goods.  They have kits that cover the basics of equipment from a one gallon kit to master's.  I personally got the deluxe (well it was a Christmas gift!).

And they also have recipe kits that you can follow as well as you slowly work your way up.  I started with kits and then fumbled around with recipes online, finally getting to know my local (ish....) home brew stores and getting to know more.

But yeah, Northern Brewer made it easy to start from scratch.

SharkStomper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2017, 04:31:30 AM »
Start with an extract kit and see how you like it.  You'll make really good beer with those and it'll help you get your feet wet.  I looked on Northern Brewer and they have a deluxe starter kit that includes a kit to get you started.  Check with several online retailers to compare prices and shipping.

Once you do a few of those and get a feel for the process you can move up to boil in the bag, partial grain or all grain recipes.  Since you don't have a local brew store I'd suggest you get 2 of everything glass and order extra yeast.

Barbaebigode

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2017, 06:12:19 AM »