Author Topic: Hobbies and where to draw the line financially?  (Read 8047 times)

Mrkineticz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hobbies and where to draw the line financially?
« on: April 19, 2015, 01:19:23 AM »
Hey  everyone I have been fighting with myself on what to do with my hobby/ passion for cars. Before finding mmm 2 months ago I bought a 1974 bmw 2002 to restore. I have to spend money on this car to restore. I know if i spend 10-15k on this car i will get at least 80% back if i ever dcecide to sell. I used to be a mechanic in my younger years, went to school for it and i want to maintain the skills as my hobby. When i am FIRE I plan to keep up with this hobby. I believe i'm mustachian but can still improve. I have a car loan and a student loan that I will also be paying off this year as well.  I wont be dropping all the money at once. THis restoration will be done within 2 years time. I dont plan on getting the car done all at once.This car will be my weekend car with my fiance/ wife to be. I know having 3 cars is not mustachian but this is something I will be enjoying .

questions
-can i indulge and not feel bad im spending that much money?

Full restoration would cost 9-15k (i know face punch)

stats about me
- 75k +29k travel reimbursement (me)
-80k (my soon to be wife)
-maxing out 401k and roth ira this year (me /fiance)
-no credit card debt.
-126k mortgage @ 3.375% 30 year
-57,000 @3.75% 30 yr rental property that makes me $400 monthly on top of mortgage
-25k to buy another house and convert my primary to a rental
-13k student loan ( my fiances loan @3.33%) currently paying $661 monthly (paying this off this year
-16k car loan @ 8% (paying off this year)

larmando

• Stubble
Re: Hobbies and where to draw the line financially?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2015, 01:58:37 AM »