Author Topic: Hiring a financial planner: anti-mustachian?  (Read 7218 times)

Freedom2016

• Pencil Stache
Hiring a financial planner: anti-mustachian?
« on: February 28, 2012, 02:46:54 PM »
By way of background, I am pretty new to the frugality / personal finance / early retirement blogging community. Not that the general principle of "spend less than you earn" had escaped me prior to finding this online community of writers, but my savings side of it has been...well...lame. Quite frankly, for the last several years, I've frittered away a lot of income that I could have been saving and investing on restaurants, trips, hobbies, clothes, etc. (A rather typical urban consumer, and pretty far from being a mustachian.) At the time, I felt fine about it because I always paid my CC's off each month. My husband, too, had a similar money mindset...while he was decent about staying out of debt (also paying off CC's each month), he also brought little by way of savings/investments into our marriage.

Some of our current numbers: Our non-mortgage debt is my $37.5 consolidated student loan from grad school (3.13% interest) and a $15k interest-free loan my husband received from his mother. We have 2 paid off cars and a mortgage. We also have 31.5K in an emergency/float fund, 2k in a sinking fund for car insurance, repairs, etc, and about $180k in retirement savings & investments. On the income side of things, I'm a partner in a small consulting firm but for all practical purposes, I run my own business and I have fluctuating income month-to-month as well as year-to-year (hence the float fund). Husband's income is stable.

Cut to some months ago, when I got pregnant and we realized that my income, in particular, was going to diminish significantly in 2012. To be conservative, I estimated my annual income would drop by 50% compared to my 2011 income, which was an unusually high income year.