Author Topic: High paying career OR physically active jobs  (Read 10258 times)

sbryant31

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
High paying career OR physically active jobs
« on: July 05, 2017, 08:04:50 PM »
Hey guys. I am pretty sure a lot of other mustachians have gone through similar situations, so I'd love to get your feedback.

I've been saving for about 4-5 years and I have a nice nest egg of about 200-250k saved up. I am a software developer. Two years ago I quit working typical 9 to 5 jobs to go the freelance/entrepreneur/startup route. Even though I didn't create anything really successful, I managed to make money and save quite a bit during that time. It's been fun, but lonely and physically inactive.

I really enjoy being active and moving my body every day. My idea of a perfect day is one where I'm on my feet building and fixing things, or hiking 20 miles. It's what makes me happy. I also like being around people and working on a team. I wish my career revolved around physical activity. I could still code on the weekends and evenings and I bet I would be more interested/creative if it were not my dayjob. And I would be physically healthier and learn new skills.

I'm considering getting into the trades, particularly electrician work (I am an electrical engineer by degree). I guess after several years of preparation I'd be looking at 50-60k a year, versus 100-150k as a software engineer. Substantially lowers my savings rate.

Both options sound great. But the idea of having to sit at a desk all day is so depressing. Spending my brain cells on building silly web apps, when I could be in the real world doing things that matter.

--

The last physically active job I had was working at a grocery store when I was 17. I do remember it fondly, but perhaps it's just an old fond memory?