Author Topic: Hierarchy of Investments for Teachers, Police, Firefighters  (Read 4477 times)

sultee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachians,
I know that topics similar to this have been covered, but I am very new to the public sector and I am looking to make a priority list for where my money is going. I know that I have access to a 403b, 457, HSA, and IRA/Roth IRA. In addition, I will have a pension when I retire. Would it be best to max IRAs first before moving to the 403b/457 due to early retirement penalties? So far this is what I'm thinking, so please help me out:

1. IRA Max
2. 403b Max
3. 457 leftover?

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Hierarchy of Investments for Teachers, Police, Firefighters
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 09:30:27 AM »
The 457 can be great for an early retiree because there is no 10% early withdrawal tax. If anything is matched by your employer, do that first. HSA should be pretty high up there because it's tax-free both ways. 457 probably next after that.

SheepDog

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2017, 11:25:13 AM »
Our 457b plan allows us penalty free withdrawal at any time after you become separated from your employer, be it early retirement, layoff, or firings.  And its pre-tax on your pay stub so you get a nice tax break on it as well.   It's a state managed trust, so should my city go tits up (pretty likely lol), my money will still be there.

I think a good investment order would be:

Pension contribution (usually a mandated non-adjustable amount)
Any employer matched funds (kinda rare in public service because they are already making deposits to the pension)
Max HSA if you have one
Max 457b
Other IRA's like Roth, etc...

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2017, 12:05:24 PM »
Investment Order may be helpful.

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2017, 12:12:38 PM »