Author Topic: Hi All, My name is Darkshark and I'm a former Consuma-Sucka  (Read 10459 times)

darkshark16

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey guys & gals,

I just wanted to explain my current situation and thoughts and ask if you guys thought I was on the right track, had any input, or think I'm doing something completely wrong. So let me start by explaining my situation:

I have a job I love, but there's not much pay in it and I'm here for now mainly because I like it (easy work, great boss) and I'm a young professional farming experience that is just lucky to have any job in my depressing career field (communications). I know, not the best booming business to be in, but I enjoy it and even though I've thought about getting additional schooling, the debt of another degree, plus not knowing if I would like being in any of the handful of STEM fields keeps me away (I do know I hate programming!) and after a few years of experience I have found jobs in the field with decent pay, but they just may require me moving. The only debt I have is from a car (11.6k) so I've decided to take on a second job for the next few months to try and pay it off and save a little on the 2.9% APR. Even though my primary job doesn't pay well, it does have some notable perks (I work for the state) I get free healthcare, a gym on site that is fantastic and only $30 a month, and a pension that if I were to stay in for until I'm 60, would pay me 69% of my five years' highest salary, but 6.75% of my paycheck goes to funding the pension (still a good deal though) but this blog has had me dreaming of early retirement. My finance situation is as follows:

Assets:
2.4k emergency fund (should be 3k but I'm waiting on my roommate to pay me back on some damages he made to my car)
1.8k roth mutual fund
2.4k owned on Car. It's valued at 14k, but has 11.6k remaining on it (I've been paying 3x the minimum on it for the past few months)