Author Topic: Here's my situation any help apperciated!  (Read 3628 times)

Bea

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Here's my situation any help apperciated!
« on: October 01, 2013, 03:08:44 PM »
I've been reading this blog for a few weeks now and working up the courage to do a "look at my situation" post. So here goes! Please be kind and remember we are new to this, I so appreciate any  replies you choose to give me.
Basic info: We are a married couple expecting our first baby both 28 years old. My husband is a school teacher. I am an artist. I started a business making and selling my work, which was starting to get some traction but when I became pregnant it was too physically demanding to continue so it is on hold for now. I still teach classes and have another very part time job. I absolutely plan to rejoin the work force as soon as I can! My business will allow me to watch my child and make money, I love my work and can't wait to get things restarted.

Assets: IRA: $9500 invested in a mutual fund with a 1% expense ratio. This was not my choice but my husband wanted to invest in a fund that is socially responsible so we found this one and it has been a compromise since he was against investing in the stock market at all.
Car: 2001 Mazada protege paid cash for this several years ago, still going strong though large repairs may be in the near future.
Cash: $40000 in a savings account. OK I know this is crazy. Here is what we were thinking with it. $15000 in emergency saving the rest we are thinking of as a down payment for a house. We won't be ready to buy for another 2-5 years though. So the question of what to do with this money in the short term is kind of daunting.

Income: Husbands pay check: 2960 after taxes
My earnings: varies usually around 400 per month since quitting my main pursuit

September spending:
Health: $802-Includes FSA contribution of $200, a gym pass $100 lasts for three months, and several one time and pregnancy related expenses.
Rent: $775