Author Topic: Help with humidity/mold problem (old house)  (Read 1495 times)

MeHg11

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help with humidity/mold problem (old house)
« on: March 03, 2021, 06:43:44 PM »
I'm in FL and have an 85 year old home with a somewhat poorly ventilated, small crawl space. Recently had the inside of the home tested for mold and levels were off the chart high. Humidity inside was >60% in some rooms.

I have a large (4 ton) relatively new (~3 yrs) AC unit which is probably oversized as it's cooling only about 1800 sq ft. I have 2 mini splits in rooms farthest from the AC unit. I say oversized as I've been told the problem is that the unit is cooling too fast and not removing the humidity. I just installed a Nest thermostat and the unit turned on/off 19 times in 24 hours - this seems excessive to me, but I'm no expert.

To make things worse the humidity levels from the AC supply ducts in the floor were incredibly high - almost 80% after the unit had shut off and the blower was still going. I was told that the flexible ducts could also possibly be compromised (perhaps a hole in them and thus exposed to outside air?).  Another problem is that the flexible duct sits right on the ground which I'm sure is not ideal given the moisture it's likely exposed to. The ventilation of the crawl space is not ideal either.

My question is this - should I go for a smaller AC unit and fix the problems with the ducts/ventilation and perhaps install some sort of barrier on the ground to block moisture? Or should I just bite the bullet and remove the unit and the ducts and just install splits in all rooms (4 heads total)? I've had conflicting advice from different AC contractors and it's very frustrating. I'm not so concerned about the cost - really just want someone to give me sound advice so I can get the problem fixed. 

MeHg11

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help with humidity/mold problem (old house)
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2021, 06:57:33 PM »
[MOD NOTE: Duplicate topics merged.]