Author Topic: Help with career, any advice appreciated Edited w/ Updated! 12/20  (Read 2653 times)

newloginuser

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I am currently employed at a bank as a commercial underwriter/analyst after changing careers a few years ago. I find the work to be somewhat interesting (more so at first) but the long term prospect seemed good. Moving up would eventually net me a six figure salary with bonus or close to it as long as I suffered through some time as an analyst.

Well not even a year into starting the boss who hired me quit and the new boss just seems to ride my ass on every little thing, more so then every other member on the team. I get the sense I will never be promoted here, and whatever work I do won’t be good enough for him.

One of my big problems is I’m not very good at networking and my job doesn’t present a lot of opportunities to do so. I live in a small New England state any everybody seems to know everybody. I’m not sure if this is hurting my chances to find a job as I’m sure my new boss knows quite a few people in the industry. I’m searching for jobs there aren’t many around.

Anyway a few thoughts:

1. Tough it out and try to get my boss to like me? Not sure it’s likely but should list it.
2. How can I improve my networking ability, and do so discretely so word doesn’t get back to my employer?
3. Should I just try to change careers? I’m not oppose to it, but if I did frankly I’d do it for money which usually doesn’t work out and I’m not sure what that could be.
4. Pick up and move for more opportunities?
5. Maybe simplest of all but what would you do?

Hope to get some good dialogue going and I appreciate the forums help
« Last Edit: December 20, 2019, 01:45:43 PM by newloginuser »

Zamboni

• Magnum Stache
Re: Help with career, any advice appreciated
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2019, 07:22:47 PM »