Author Topic: Help with airline mile bonuses  (Read 4512 times)

by_1008

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help with airline mile bonuses
« on: April 30, 2015, 11:19:45 AM »
I’m new to the world of airline miles, so I would appreciate any help with my ideas below.

Need: 2 round-trip tickets from RDU to Paris (CDG) in December currently selling for $1200 each.

American offers flights to CDG for 20k miles each way (Economy MileSAAver), as opposed to 30k miles for United (Saver Award). So it seems like the Citi AAdvantage card (40,000 miles after $3,000 spend) is better than the United MileagePlus Card (50,000 miles)

My considerations: We probably spend $1200-$1500 month on CC so we can reach these spend limits. We have good credit, and all of our CCs are geared currently towards cash back. We don’t fly all that often, so I’m mostly just focused on this Paris trip as opposed to long-term points accumulation. We will be flying to St. Louis in the fall though (either via Southwest, United, or American)--tickets not yet purchased.

My questions:
  • If I have to do the spending, and then wait 8-10 weeks for points to reach my account, am I risking not having any seats available on which I can use miles? I don’t know the time-frame on which these seats get taken up.
  • Does either AA or United offer additional flexibility that I should be aware of should I need to move my flights up or back a day (which there is a not insignificant chance I will need).
  • Can we both sign up for a card (assuming we can reach the spend limit on each)?
  • How can I make this flight to St. Louis also fit into this plan?
  • Are there other offers that I should be considering instead?
Thanks!

JoJo

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Help with airline mile bonuses
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 02:45:18 PM »
Just from my experience with trying to redeem, those economy milesavers get snapped up pretty quick, especially around holidays, weekends, and summer.    Best to book those WAY ahead of time.

Catbert