Author Topic: HELP-Want to start my own bookkeeping biz but not sure whre to start  (Read 3404 times)

BeanCounter

• Handlebar Stache
I'm a CPA with 15 years small and large business experience (mostly healthcare and insurance). No firm experience and I flipped to a finance role about 7 years ago. I am currently director of finance at a large hospital system. I would like to leave the full time corporate workforce and build my own accounting business. I'm thinking small business bookkeeping and individual tax. But I'm not sure where to begin. And I'm concerned that most of my experience does not translate. So I'm hoping that someone on MMM can provide some advice.
 -Should I consider taking some classes again to refresh my knowledge or just dive right in? Or would it be beneficial for me to take a huge pay cut and work in a bookkeeping business for awhile?
 -I'm worried about selling myself and finding a few businesses to hire me. What is the best way to do this?
-What is the best way to figure out what to charge for these services?
-If I get a few clients and I come across a question I don't know how to answer, what do I do? I'm used to having "experts" to go to, not BEING the EXPERT.

Can you tell I have so much self doubt holding me back!!!

Background- age 40, married with two school aged kids. FI, however the cost of health insurance and future teenagers has us scared to RE. DH will continue working for insurance and his job also provides free college tuition. I would like to build a business to fund some fun travel and keep my skills fresh.

oldmannickels

• Stubble
Re: HELP-Want to start my own bookkeeping biz but not sure whre to start
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2018, 07:58:43 AM »
To build your skills volunteer to be the treasurer at a non-profit. Their bookkeeping is always atrocious so whatever you do will be better and you can learn different software kinks before you have clients.