Author Topic: help small biz owner choosing retirement plan  (Read 3757 times)

Fuzz

• Bristles
help small biz owner choosing retirement plan
« on: August 05, 2014, 01:24:49 PM »
Hi Mustachians,

I am hoping that other self-employed mustachians can share how they thought about their retirement plans. I am a self-employed professional and provide professional services. My business is organized as an LLC and I am on the only member. I don't take a regular salary, but make owner draws. Eventually, I would like to hire other employees, but that is at least a year off.

My understanding of my options:

Solo 401K: Contribution limits: $17,500 form after tax. 25 percent of pay pre-tax. Total can't equal more than $51,000. Assuming a hypothetical $80K in income, I could contribute $17,500 from after tax and $20,000 pre-tax. Total $37,500.

Sep-IRA: Contribution limit $51,000. Only pre-tax dollars. Limited to 25 percent of pay pretax, or 51,000. Same hypothetical 80K income limits me to a $20K contribution.

Basically, if my business made over 204K in income, then the SEP would be better since I would be able to contribute $51,000 as 25% of income, and it would be a pre-tax expense. If I want to have a gross tax-advantaged savings rate higher than 25%, and make less than $204,000, then I should choose the Solo 401K.

What other things did people consider? As far as my values, if I do hire someone, then I'm OK with funding their retirement plans and having it be more expensive. So restrictions as to eligibility are less important to me.

Links here: http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Help-with-Choosing-a-Retirement-Plan

forestbound

• Bristles
Re: help small biz owner choosing retirement plan
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 02:29:07 PM »