Author Topic: Spouse wants to get Masters...  (Read 3039 times)

Broadway2019

• Bristles
Spouse wants to get Masters...
« on: August 14, 2017, 08:53:23 AM »
I just finished paying off my student loans and credit card debt. Recently, my fiance brought up wanting to go back to school to get a Master in Public Policy. I was kinda taken back by this because I just finished paying off $80k in student loans and do not want to go back into debt. Has anyone else went back to get their masters and how did you pay for it? Her company does not have tuition reimbursement. At first, I suggested she look for a company that offers tuition reimbursement, however, she has been at her job for 10 years so I do not think she would switch jobs.

Because we just paid off all our debt we do not have any savings besides an emergency fund of $10k and our 401ks.

lizzzi

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Spouse wants to get Masters...
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2017, 09:52:05 AM »
When I was a public health nurse, I went back to school and got a Masters in Public Administration. I simply paid for it out of pocket, so no loans, debts, or any of that. It was fascinating and life-enhancing, although it didn't really translate into helping me advance in my career. I have mixed feelings about it--probably shouldn't have spent the money ( it was around $25,000)--but it sharpened my writing skills and my ability to network on the computer--doing team projects and so forth with people I never met in person was a good learning experience for me. And I realized that I wrote better than most of the people I interfaced with...so did a lot more writing after graduation. (Did not profit from it financially though.) I got the Masters on line, but the college was five minutes from my office, so I could run over to school to go to the bookstore, talk to a professor in person--things like that--very easily. My husband didn't mind about the money--he was a big supporter of education...and we had plenty of savings and inv