Author Topic: Help on starting a solo 401k or SEP IRA  (Read 2928 times)

Swat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help on starting a solo 401k or SEP IRA
« on: August 17, 2016, 05:26:44 PM »
I've just starting reading about solo 401k and SEP IRA's and want to try and take advantage of some of these opportunities.

Current situation: I am a medical resident who is currently maxing out hospital 401k, Roths, HSA, etc... I am starting to make some money on the side this year. At this point it is just surveys, but I'm hoping to begin moonlighting next year and possibly more money consulting when I am an attending. While my contributions this year will be minimal, every little bit helps and it will also allow me to understand the interworkings of each type of account and how to contribute.
-Expected $ from survey company 1: $1100
-Expected $ from survey company 2: $400
-Expected $ from survey company 3: $200

Questions:
1) Companies 2 and 3 state that with such low amounts of money (below $600), they won't even be sending in tax forms for the IRS. Do I still have to report it, and pending that response, will that $600 be factored into the solo401k/SEP or does it have to only be on the $1100.
2) Is it better to start a solo 401k vs SEP? My understanding is solo 401k is more work (paperwork, fees) but will allow you to do backdoor Roth and has other advantages over a SEP. While backdoor roth isn't needed this year, starting in 2018 it will be an issue.