Author Topic: Help me with the tax implications of converting my traditional IRA to a Roth  (Read 4319 times)

ShuShu1971

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello Mustachians! I have been lurking on this board for awhile, but this is my first time to post. I am interested in converting my husband's and my traditional IRAs to Roths, and I suspect this year may be a good time because our income has dropped. Can you help me understand exactly how this works, so that I don't create unintended tax consequences next year?

Here are the details:

My husband and I both worked for a company which was bought out in 2013. Each of us moved our traditional 401ks to traditional IRAs at that time. My husband has continued to work for the new company and grosses $61,000 a year. I left the new company last August and have stayed at home since. We are now in the 15% tax bracket.

I read in another thread that there is a 0% tax liability on dividends and capital gains in the 15% tax bracket. Does that mean that we could convert the full amount of our traditional IRAs to Roths with no tax consequence?

Is the entire balance (currently $350,000 combined) considered dividends and capital gains, or is there some portion which is still taxable?

Could we convert the full amount in one year, or are we limited to the amount which is the difference between our AGI and the top end of the 15% bracket ($73,000 or whatever it is)?

Also, does it matter that I changed our investment options at the end of 2014? When I look up our accounts at Vanguard, our gains are shown as short-term gains. Must I keep the money in place for one year before I make the conversion?

Thank you for your help!

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
Anything converted or withdrawn from the IRA would be taxed as regular income.  We can help you come up with a bit of tax strategy with the following information:

Current ages
When your husband intends to retire