Author Topic: Help me replace my cell phone... iPhone? MotoG?  (Read 4806 times)

rebecuna

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me replace my cell phone... iPhone? MotoG?
« on: December 13, 2014, 08:57:02 AM »
I have been researching and trying to figure this out for a couple months now, since my current iPhone 4 (that was given to me when someone upgraded) has gotten glitchy. I've been using it with Page Plus and have been really happy. My husband uses Republic Wireless and likes that, but spends most of his phone time in buildings connected to their internet, where I use most of mine driving around or hiking in the woods. Republic has a warning for our zip code that coverage might not be good.

I am so annoyed and overwhelmed with how hard this is. I just want someone to tell me what to do and how (clearly) to do it. I wish there was a cell phone concierge that could just do it all for me. I would pay money for that. <end of rant>

I would like to get an iPhone 5, and use a carrier that works as well as Page Plus for no more than $30/mo. I am willing to switch to Republic and get their MotoG ($180) if what I'm hoping for with an iPhone is impossible. I'm probably not interested in any other phone because I hate learning how to use new phones. I also have an AT&T 4s that someone gave me, but I couldn't figure out what to do with it-- but the phone would be free if there's a good option for a provider to use for that.

There is a Groupon for refurbished iPhones right now, with an iPhone 5 with 16GB for $300 (or 32 for $319) that says "for Verizon and other carriers" with this list specifying the other carriers:
    Affinity Cellular
    BYO Wireless
    NET10 Wireless
    Page Plus Cellular
    Ready Mobile
    Red Pocket Mobile
    Selectel Wireless
    Straight Talk
    TracFone

Another Groupon listing for similar iPhones says "unlocked for all GSM carriers, including T-moblie and AT&T".