Author Topic: Help me reduce my spending!  (Read 7108 times)

PencilThinMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me reduce my spending!
« on: June 01, 2014, 08:22:26 PM »
OK, the time has come for us to cut our spending and Im turning to all of you for some advice.  My wife and I discovered MMM a few months back and have truly embraced the principles.  We practice a 50% savings rate and stick to a budget, easily tracked on mint.com b/c we exclusively use amazon rewards CC that we pay in full each month.  we established the allocated amounts of money into each category based on previous year's trend.   

I think we actually have modest spending when compared to my colleagues (I'm a physician in a lucrative specialty), and really many of my age-group peers (early 30s). I think we live pretty modestly.  Drive VWs.  Accept hand-me-down kids toys and clothes.  Cant remember the last time I bought a single piece of clothing from anywhere but TJ Max or Ross.  Live in a very nice house in a great neighborhood, but far from luxury (most neighbors are military officers or young professionals).  But now after compiling our spending, I am shocked and appalled by the sheer amount we spend per month and we need to find ways to cut it.  Here is the deal:

income: 16k/mo post tax

Fixed expenses (that I cannot change reasonably):
50% "savings": 8k per month off the top goes to 401k, IRA, until full; remainder is going to chop away at $200k SL debt that got me where I am today.  I realize that its not actually savings but when SL are paid it will be
2500 PITI (on 400k home)
380 life/disability insurance
550/mo car lease payments (2 VWs, I need a car for work, sorry cannot ride 30 bike 30 miles each way to work...and wife needs safe baby vehicle)

Variable expenses
750 groceries (we place a high value on eating healthy.  We try to eat a paleo-ish diet and can be pricey)
500 dining out