Author Topic: Help me land a promotion — UPDATED  (Read 3012 times)

Goldy

• Bristles
Help me land a promotion — UPDATED
« on: November 05, 2018, 07:49:40 PM »
I’m currently a project manager in a science based field working for a fortune 500 company.  I enjoy my job and have worked for the company my entire career (13 years).  The project I am a part of is being sold to another company and it sounds like I will be seconded to this other company for 2-3 years before coming back.  All of my benefits/paychecks/employee stock remains the same however I will be expected to lead this project without all of the support that comes with a large company.

My past few annual reviews have been excellent however the promotion I have been chasing continues to elude me.  I’m the expert at this current project so I feel like it is a good time to leverage this and secure the promotion.  However, I don’t know how to phrase this conversation.

I had a conversation with my boss about it and basically explained how I appreciate the opportunity and would like to discuss how this new role is beyond my current position.  He got evasive at this point and explained how we aren’t in the right part of the cycle to discuss promotions.  He did say that he had put my name in for one this last time around.

To me having a formal secondment is the perfect time to discuss this.  It’s like a totally new job so in my mind it’s acceptable to negotiate a bit here.  My concern is that if I don’t get promoted now I certainly won’t get promoted while on secondment because the other company has no incentive to do so.

How should I phrase my next discussion with my boss when he hands me secondment forms to sign?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 06:17:02 AM by Goldy »

Gone_Hiking

• Stubble
Re: Help me land a promotion
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 08:48:11 PM »