Author Topic: Help me find a cell phone plan  (Read 5171 times)

Frugal373

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me find a cell phone plan
« on: June 17, 2013, 10:00:03 PM »
Mello Mustachians!

I am hoping I could get some much needed advice on what cell phone plan to get in order to minimize my monthly bill. Before you post me a link to another post on this forum, let me assure you that I probably read them already, I have been researching this topic for the past three weeks, lol!

My situation is a bit unique because I am moving back to the US in about 4 weeks time, so there is no pre-existing phone plan of any sort. I am also a complete novice, I studied in the US for college about 5 years ago but never had a cell phone during college. I have already done tons of research online but I am still highly confused and cannot figure out what my best options are and I would really like to have a game plan when I arrive....I don't want to have to run from AT&T to Verizon to T-Mobile only to get desperate at the end and sing up for some wasteful 2 year contract.

I am hoping someone could chime in on what would be the most cost effective thing for me to do given my requirements.

Here is what I am looking for:
-   I currently have a blackberry bold (unlocked and paid for). I do not mind switching to another phone and do not mind paying cash for that if this is the best choice long term. The only requirement is that it needs to be unlocked as I need to be able to use it overseas (if I go overseas I often just buy a SIM card there).
-   I need data (less than 300MB per month) and need to be able to use whatsapp
-   I need to be able to make and receive calls (less than 100min a month outgoing, more than 100min a month incoming)
-   I need to be able to send and receive text messages (I send around 50 text messages per month usually)
-   I need to be able to send and receive emails
-   I do not care about any apps
-   I do not have a preference over a contract vs pre paid