Author Topic: Help me brainstorm job opportunities? Tell me about careers I've never heard of!  (Read 11250 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
I have a bachelor's degree in English Literature (= good communication skills, good critical thinking) and a master's degree in Library and Information Systems (= good organization, good research skills, experience teaching). I also have tons of experience in customer service, sales, and a bit of experience supervising/managing. I'm tech savvy but not a programmer.

I am moving to a new city, and I'm very excited! I'm looking for a new job and trying to find one that will pay me lots of money so that I can reach FIRE status ASAP. I've been looking for library and office jobs, but I feel like I need to branch out and think of some new fields/positions. Any ideas? I would really appreciate it! I'm willing to try just about anything as long as I feel qualified.

Edited to add: Any jobs that require face-to-face human interaction would be my preference. I despise working on a computer facing data all day, but beggars can't be choosers!
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 01:08:23 PM by lifejoy »

swick

• Magnum Stache
Have you looked into offering copywriting services? You can do it pretty much anywhere but being in a city with lots of companies help. Someone has to create all those training manuals, industry whitepapers and year end reports/newsletters.

With your experience and background you could probably do really well - if you have the freelance spirit. Could be a nice side-gig at the very least.

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
    • Not Buying This
Have you looked into offering copywriting services? You can do it pretty much anywhere but being in a city with lots of companies help. Someone has to create all those training manuals, industry whitepapers and year end reports/newsletters.