Author Topic: Help Decreasing Clown Car Syndrome  (Read 6249 times)

Frugal Firefighter

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help Decreasing Clown Car Syndrome
« on: June 23, 2014, 08:41:58 PM »

Area:
Rural NW Oklahoma
Town is roughly 4-5 sq miles
~5000 population

Current vehicle situation:
2008 Hyundai Elantra
-This is my wife's daily driver for a 24 mile, 20 minute commute. Awesome job with higher oilfield pay
2004 Nissan Titan
2010 Honda Shadow Phantom

Job situation:
Like I said, the wife has a great job at an oilfield company in a neighboring community.
I'm a full-time firefighter on a combination department. This means that, because of our size, I'm technically on call whenever I'm off work and in town for responses to the station or scene when needed.

My situation is difficult. I really want to start riding a bike, and I've almost pulled the trigger several times on good Craigslist finds. The thing that hangs me up is needing the quick response at any time to the station. Also, when I'm at the station, we are allowed to go home for lunch and supper, usually in our personal vehicle. During the week I  pack a lunch for the station, but on the weekend I go home to spend time with my wife. Every shift I go home for supper. I only live 1 mile from the station, but with an emergency response possibly needed, a bike isn't feasible on fire department days.

The Nissan Titan is soon to be posted for sale. My plan is to buy a $1500-2500, 30+ mpg car, hitch, and 6x12 utility trailer. I see roughly a $3000 profit strictly through these purchases and sale.