Author Topic: Help Confused Pre Pubescent Moustachian From the UK  (Read 2683 times)

marine1983

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help Confused Pre Pubescent Moustachian From the UK
« on: February 26, 2017, 06:22:44 AM »
Hi,

Listening to Tim Ferris about Mr money moustache has hit a chord about what we need to do with our money. We are at a cross roads on what to do with our money and investments. We have  young children and currently going through the process of selling our house. I'm 33 and my partner is 37 she is currently a stay at home mum. I work in the IT sector and a decent wage as a contractor to maximise my take home.

From this sale we would have around £100k. We have no idea on what to do with this amount. We are from UK so we dont have the IRS or 401k's. Is there any one on here that could help me out on translating these to a UK equivalent?

I have looked into the Vanguard accounts and i'm grateful to see that you are able to open an account from the UK. I'm a little confused/concerned that you need to open an account with a minimum of 100k. Is this correct? The products listed are overwhelming, do we go for accumulation or income etc? Any help on deciphering what we need would be most helpful.

We are thinking to use 20k of the money to put down a deposit on another house leaving the rest for investment. I have used the calculators but still do not fully understand them. Are they these same as basic compound interest calcs?

These are the start of my questions and i'm hoping to bounce ideas and start a discussion.

« Last Edit: February 26, 2017, 01:52:30 PM by marine1983 »

former player

• Walrus Stache
Re: Help Confused Pre Pubescent Moustachian
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2017, 06:54:16 AM »
Hi, and welcome to the forums.

Two useful UK sites on financial issues are

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/
http://monevator.com/
Which? also does financial info but you need to pay a subscription (there should be a cheap introductory deal which you could then cancel).