Author Topic: Help choosing balance of 401k  (Read 6472 times)

warehouse

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help choosing balance of 401k
« on: January 26, 2015, 08:44:04 PM »
Hi All,

Looking for some guidance in choosing how to allocate my employer run 401k. I currently am 100% invested in "SSgA Target Retirement 2050" I am 30 right now but hoping to FIRE in 10 years with my husband. The current balance is just over $30k in this account so not a huge sum. I am new to all of this and before coming to this site I never would have considered changing the default selection! Also I can choose to automatically rebalance at 90 or 180 days, any suggestions which is best?

I can assign any of the accounts below a percentage value with the total equaling 100%. Just looking for some guidance :)

Premixed Portfolios           
    SSgA Target Retirement Income      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2010      
   SSgA Target Retirement 2015      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2020      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2025      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2030      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2035      
    SSgA Target Retirement 2040
    SSgA Target Retirement 2045   
    SSgA Target Retirement 2050   
    SSgA Target Retirement 2055   
Core Funds
Stable Value      
    Putnam Stable Value   
Bond      
    PIMCO Total Return       
    Inflation Protected Bond       
Balanced   
    T. Rowe Price Balanced       
Large U.S. Equity   
    Dodge & Cox Stock       
    Vanguard Institutional Index       
    Harbor Capital Appreciation       
Small/Mid U.S. Equity      
    Mid Cap Equity Select   
    T. Rowe Price Small Cap Stock   
International   
    American EuroPacific Growth       
    Vanguard Total Int'l Stk Index

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Help choosing balance of 401k
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2015, 09:08:28 PM »
On the face of it, that appears a reasonable choice.  Need to know, however, what fees are charged to you for each of the options.