Author Topic: Help! Should I become a teacher or an engineer? HS Senior!  (Read 30510 times)

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
Re: Help! Should I become a teacher or an engineer? HS Senior!
« Reply #50 on: May 25, 2014, 08:04:08 AM »
Still need to make it through the rest of the posts, so I apologize if I am duplicating anything others have said. Here is my experience:

Don't be scared off by math for an engineering degree!!!!

I am an engineer (almost 10 years work experience) with a bachelor's and master's from top institutions. I was never great at math (definitely okay, you can't fail math an do engineering), was always better and English/reading, and always loved languages. I did a year as an exchange student before starting junior college to learn French and briefly considered majoring in French, so I am serious when I say that I have never been a math whiz.

Engineering rocks and here is why in my opinion:

1) You can get a really good job out of a 4-year degree which is definitely not the case in many other majors.
2) Most salaries and career paths are relatively lucrative compared to other fields. Yes, you can earn more doing something else, but many, many other careers pay less, and it sounds like your head is on straight from the beginning, so you could make the most of a good salary through saving.
3) Engineering is so versatile so with a little hard work and luck, you will have a rewarding and meandering career path and not get stuck in a rut.
4) Engineers plain do cool stuff for their jobs. If you are interested in continuous learning, this is a great major to be in.

Other thoughts:
If you do a degree in engineering, you can always teach down the line without tremendously more investment in education. Going from teaching to engineering would not be nearly as easy.

Engineering, as cheesy as it sounds, teaches you to "think" which is a very handy skill later in life for just about everything.