Author Topic: Help! New job, billable hours, gender  (Read 5483 times)

anonforthis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help! New job, billable hours, gender
« on: July 07, 2017, 12:46:59 PM »
Help!
I just started a new job as a mid level scientist with a healthy side dish of technical writing. So far most of the work my supervisor has given me has been secretarial, and I have not been able to find more than a couple hours of work in my field in the two weeks I’ve been here. It’s a billable hours environment – if I am not seen as a scientist I will not succeed in this role. I’ve spent a lot of time trying to track down projects, and I met with my supervisor earlier this week to gently encourage him to let me do what I was hired for. He seemed responsive during the meeting, but there has been no change. There is plenty that needs doing but he does not seem to be willing to hand it off to me, and it is not an environment where I can jump on to a project without being invited.

I am not sure I can afford to just be really bad at using the copy machine, but I don’t know what to do.

And yes, I am female and younger than my boss. The position is in a different part of my field then any I have held before, and it is a step up from my previous roles. My technical skills are excellent but this is the first time I have needed to navigate this complex of a social environment in the workplace in order to do my job.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Help! New job, billable hours, gender
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2017, 01:01:58 PM »
Any folks higher on the technical ladder who might be willing to mentor you?

Leaders on projects where plenty needs doing who might authorize you to bill hours on their projects?

bobechs

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2017, 01:24:23 PM »
Is a gender change out of the question?

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2017, 01:34:59 PM »
What is your job title? And does your boss know your job title?

blue

• 5 O'Clock Shadow