Author Topic: Help! Manager blocking internal move at 11th hour!  (Read 5957 times)

darkskys

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help! Manager blocking internal move at 11th hour!
« on: March 06, 2021, 07:28:48 AM »
Hey good friends of MMM, long time lurker here and looking for a bit of advice if you would be so kind. I'm a first generation college and my parents had me at a VERY young age, so I've had a few (AHM lots) of hard knocks over the years figuring this all out on my own. Back when I started graduate school and my eventual career this site had a great deal of influence on my current success. As for financial background, we aren't FI but we have FU money and we plan on slowly downshifting over the course of this decade. I also live in a prosperous city in the US and there are plenty of jobs available, although I work for a company in a different state.

I've been a working professional at the same company for 5 years. I'm a high performer and have received multiple promotions and make over a 100k a year now. For purposes of this post, let's define my current role and manager as A) and future role as B). As I've progressed through the years I've learned what I'm passionate about and good at and while working have taught myself a skillset for a career shift. There was a internal position over a year ago I applied for and ended up settling on doing that 50/50 with role A and role B while I trained into role B and got a feel for it. It's initially been great, but learning an entirely new career while executing the demands of role A has been rough recently. Role B transition was supposed to occur on April 1st provided the financial details were approved at B), and team at Role A) has known this for 6 months and has had time to plan. I will add that I'm doing very well at Role B and have even introduced a number of innovations that the team has been thrilled about.