Author Topic: Help! I'm Resisting a Trip to NYC, and a Free Stay in a Mansion!  (Read 10559 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
Dear fellow Mustachians,

This is my first time posting, and I would love your support.

I am a 24-year-old librarian, and I am working 2-4 jobs (librarian, bookstore cashier, babysitter & tutor) to tackle my student loan debt ($10,000) and later my parental loan debt ($7000). I have the opportunity to go to New York with my boyfriend, and stay for free at his family's mansion. I would also be able to see some old friends that I haven't seen in a while! (They live in Omaha, Nebraska and Pensylvannia, PA).

My boyfriend is a doctor and is not very mustachian. He has student loans, but with expectations of a solid income and no desire to retire early, he feels free to enjoy the finer things in life. Like expensive trips! We just got back from a trip to Montreal, and despite resisting shopping and staying at his friend's house for free... I still owe my bf about $1000 for the trip. (The trip to Montreal was not one I wanted to go on, I told him I couldn't afford it, but it was supposedly his only vacation time for the year and I didn't want to miss him for 2 weeks. So I went.)

Anyways - sorry about all the added info, I just want you to have a full picture so you can use this information to inspire me! I am in emergency debt repayment mode, and am trying to tell myself "NO!". But I also don't want to miss out on things in life! This is a really cool opportunity, and I have never been to New York. Paying my debt pack in 5 years instead of 2 would mean a lot more fun packed in, but it would also mean paying more overall (yay interest rates) and the guilt/worry of having debt.

A good friend of mine has already suggested to me that I won't enjoy a trip like this, if I'm there just worrying about what I'm doing to my debt-repayment plan.