Author Topic: HELP! DEBT, COLLECTION and INTERNATIONALS  (Read 1837 times)

jrig

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
HELP! DEBT, COLLECTION and INTERNATIONALS
« on: January 10, 2019, 07:35:46 AM »
Hey guys,

New user here! Would love some input as I am not sure how to go about this situation. Long story short:

The wife and were in Dallas as students. I am Dutch, she is Brazilian. We both attended university. We were international students. I did my masters(MBA), she her bachelors (Psychology). As Internationals we were very limited as to what work we could legally do, so our families were helping us pay for the tuition. Now in our last semester, my wife’s family suffered a very serious medical emergency and could no longer afford to pay. My family the same. Terrible timing! We talked to the university and they were very gracious. The told us that since we were both almost done, they’d let us complete our studies and pay them off gradually. (Obviously we’d get the diplomas once the balances were cleared).