Author Topic: HELOC, Personal Loan? Other? Finish this house!  (Read 2199 times)

fixie

• Stubble
HELOC, Personal Loan? Other? Finish this house!
« on: July 05, 2018, 01:51:55 PM »
Greetings friends,

I have been renovating my house slowly for the last 8 years and have only a little bit left to do...However I'm super burned out and tired of spending most of my free time polishing this turd.  I am considering a HELOC or other option to just pay for the materials and labor for the major stuff and bang it out quickly.  Estimate for the total spend is ~$25k, excellent credit, 24% Loan to Value Ratio, 1 credit card paid off monthly.  Plan would be to use most of this money within about 6 months, then pay the entire thing off within about 2 years(probably a combination of lump sum payments and smaller amounts), sell the home within about 3-5 years.  Requesting some wisdom from Moustachians on lowest monthly cost options given the loan amount is small and the term is rather short.  On initial investigation, it seems a HELOC might be best, but if you know of other options to investigate hit me!

Many thanks, -fixie

tweezers

• Stubble
Re: HELOC, Personal Loan? Other? Finish this house!
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2018, 02:23:10 PM »
Open a credit card with a long interest-free period.  We have done this for all remodels either by using the balance transfer checks (if no balance transfer fee) and/or by loading all our spending onto that card, and using the cash that we're not applying to paying the card in full towards paying contractors.  We pay the minimum balance and save during the 18- to 24-month interest-free period, and pay the card in full before the balance is due.  If we don't quite get there before the interest-free period ends (not happened yet), we can use the line of credit for the difference.  Interest-free loan for the win!

fixie

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2018, 02:35:24 PM »