Author Topic: Hello. I'm 20 and I want help.  (Read 5424 times)

shelbyedmonds

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello. I'm 20 and I want help.
« on: September 27, 2014, 03:38:34 AM »
Hello all! I would just like to preface this post by noting this is first post on MMM! (I'm on a phone, excuse anything incorrect).

So I'm 20 and I work as a server and I make roughly 30k a year. I'm a student however I'm still undecided on my major. I'm stuck between the video game industry (esports, game design, programming) and environmental engineering (sustainability management, hydroponic farming). However I really have no set course on what I want to do with my life. Hell, sometimes I even consider being an FBI agent. However I do know one thing I want, financial independence. This goal was sparked by a coworker Dylan. He was 24 at the time and had showed me his bank account holding a nice 25k in it. Now I don't know if that's considered good or not here on MMM. But, I can tell you by looking at my account it's astronomical.

I drive a 2011 Ford Focus that cost me 302 $ a month at 9.75% interest.
I live at home.
I have a 23 $ a month gym membership.
I have a 10$  a month game subscription.
I have about 1,000 $ in credit card debt. (Top priority to rid myself of)
I have 5,500 $ in student loans from my first year in school.

I've been considering new avenues to make money such as paying off debt and saving money to buy a houseand renting it to buddies. When I want to move keep said house borrow on it buy my next rinse repeat next thing I know I have a few properties.

I'm young and I love my alcohol music festivals and good times but i also want to make sure i keep a well oreinented head on my shoulders. So I'm just looking for a Mustachian to beat me up and help me step in the right direction.

plainjane

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Hello. I'm 20 and I want help.
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2014, 04:12:32 AM »