Author Topic: Have I left it too late?  (Read 11750 times)

Bumfluff

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Have I left it too late?
« on: October 08, 2013, 09:52:39 PM »
Edited because I realised I gave almost no info whatsoever!

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to MMM (discovered him yesterday!) and am completely won over by all the sensible advice and the big fat dollop of attitude. Now, call me a slow learner but I'm 39 years old (married with two gorgeous little kids) and I'm really worried I have left it too late to really turn our finances around.

Is anyone else in BIG 4-0 region who has recently started getting their finances in order? Is retiring early even an option for someone as dried up and shrivelled as me?

What's the first thing you did to get started?

Thanks!

More info:

Earnings
My husband earns $4870 per month and should receive an annual bonus of $10,000 bonus in June next year.
I'm a SAHM who just signed up to do some work from home which will bring in approx. $500 per month, starting next week. This also means childcare costs unfortunately which will cost $227 per month.

Assets
$200 in savings (working towards a $1000 'safety net' as a starting point)
Seven year old car that we own outright
Husband's company make Superannuation contributions, we do not.
I am in the process of consolidating my three old Superannuation funds which no longer receive contributions

Debts
Credit card with balance of $2,828 and interest rate of 21.49% (Working REALLY hard to pay this one down ASAP)
Credit card with balance of $9,275 interest 13.99%
Credit card with balance of $12,918 interest 13.24%
Credit card with balance of $15,772 interest 1.9% (intro rates, ends in six months time)

So $40,793 total debt over four cards. Two are paid over the minimum, two are paid at the minimum rate.

Outgoings per month
Rent $2000. We just signed a 12 month contract so can't move for a while
Debt repayment $1139
Groceries $565
Health insurance $221
Utilities $75
Home and car insurance $75