Author Topic: Has anyone heard of "WhatsApp"?  (Read 5506 times)

mikefixac

• Bristles
    • Uncommonly Brilliant
Has anyone heard of "WhatsApp"?
« on: May 16, 2014, 08:09:18 PM »
It's an app that's free first year, then $.99/year after. All the texts you want to send or receive, unlimited--FREE.

With my Verizon account, it was costing $10/mo for my texts, and I wasn't using it that much.

The way it works though is (I think) the person texting you has to use "WhatsApp" too.

Hugh H

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Has anyone heard of "WhatsApp"?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 08:20:46 PM »
Yep, use it all the time.

Thegoblinchief

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2014, 08:33:29 PM »
Why not something totally free, like Hangouts? I assume WhatsThat still uses data of some form...

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2014, 08:11:22 AM »
The app Facebook bought for 19 Billion (with a b) a few months ago?

Yup, heard of it.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2014, 08:29:57 PM »
All it is is a proprietary instant messenger service for phones. Plenty out there cheaper (as in completely free outside of data use) and some with far friendlier privacy policies like Kik, Viber, XMS, BBM, KakaoTalk, Nimbuzz, old standbys like AIM, Yahoo IM, Skype, the Jabber/XMPP protocol, Google Hangouts....

johnintaiwan

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2014, 10:59:36 PM »
That has been huge here for the last few years. I know my wife uses it. It is still free for everyone over here. I have no experience with it myself. I still use an old nokia.

Sonorous Epithet

• Bristles