Author Topic: Has anyone ever used a temp service for employment?  (Read 6159 times)

Stachetastic

• Pencil Stache
Has anyone ever used a temp service for employment?
« on: July 23, 2015, 10:25:59 AM »
My husband's unemployment stretches ever longer and the frustration is mounting. He has been working for a friends who is a contractor, so he has at least had income, but it has been sporadic due to the weather. Once winter hits, there will be no work for months.  Has anyone used a temp service to get your foot in the door? I feel like we've explored every connection we have, networked our asses off, and still nothing. It's time for a plan B.

ROY2007

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Has anyone ever used a temp service for employment?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 10:50:00 AM »
I started with a temp agency when I was fresh out of college. The contract was with Target. The job was not exactly in my field of study and didn't pay well. After 6+ months as a contractor I was hired on as a Target employee. Stayed in a similar role for 1.5 years before being able to make the move to something more in my field. It took a while but it was a way to get my foot in the door. There were about 8 other coworkers who did the same thing.

Farmgirl

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 11:10:14 AM »
I used a temp agency three years ago to find my current job.  I live in an area where high paying bookkeeping jobs are really scarce.  If I want to drive an hour, it would be different.  Anyway, after a bunch of really bad interviews (I'm talking $12 an hour and the employer had interviewed 20 applicants), I was just about ready to sell apples on the street corner.  And then, on what I had decided was my last cattle call, I ended up in a temp to perm situation with a company that has been very fair and decent.